Ichagaki One throw his weight on a proposal MPS’s term limit

By Joy Macharia

Ichagaki MCA honored as the third best performing MCA nationally.

Mt Kenya region caucus Chairperson Charles Mwangi Nganga alias Ichagaki has supported the move by a petitioner to compel the National Assembly to introduce MP’s term limit.

Mwangi popularly known as Ichagaki One avers that the move will make leaders accountable to their mandate and also involve them in working for the electorate.

Ichagaki One said currently the legislators do not seek the mandate with true aim of representing the locals and over-sighting the executive but and a ploy to plunder and amass wealth through dubious means.

“The moment they clinch their the positions they don’t care, they only seek to enrich themselves and that is why the cost of living has gone high. As a result the cost of fuel has gone high and we have no one to talk about it,” Ichagaki One said.

According to the intellectual MCA, Senators and MPs should have a term limit as they would want to leave an indelible mark after leaving office and this would translate to huge development projects across the Constituencies.

He wondered why there is Presidential and governorship term limit yet there was no limit for legislators and called on the members of Parliament to fast truck the hearing of a petition and to agree with the proposal.

On Tuesday, a petitioner, Jonah Gachuki, presented a raft of proposals seeking to introduce the term limit to MPs.

The petition seeks Parliament’s initiative in amending Articles 102, 148 and 180 of the Constitution to set the term limits for the MPs and MCAs.

Currently, about 40 MPs in the two chambers have served for at least 15 years.

If the proposal sees the light of the day, the likes of Senator James Orengo (Siaya) Jimmy Angwenyi (Kitutu Chache) Samuel Moroto (Kapenguria), Maina Kamanda (nominated), Adan Keynan (Aldas) and Gideon Konchella (Kilgoris) would be restricted to seek reelection.

The leaders have been in Parliament for over 20 years.

Others include Maoka Maore (Igembe North), Cecily Mbarire (nominated), Katoo Ole Metito (Kajiado South), Naomi Shaban (Taveta) and Wafula Wamunyinyi (Kanduyi), who have clocked four terms each.
In the Senate, Vihiga senator George Khaniri is serving his second term but has been a Parliamentarian since 1996 when he was elected in a by-election to succeed his late father, Nicodemus Khaniri.

Recommended For You

About the Author: KK Online News

0 0 vote
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
%d bloggers like this: