Maendeleo ya wanawake joins LSK in push to dissolve parliament

By Ndungu Gachane

Maendeleo ya Wanawake chairperson Lucy Ngugi, she has backed LSK to have Parliament dissolved for failing to enact laws to ensure gender balance

Maendeleo ya Wanawake group has backed Law Society of Kenya’s (LSK) push to have the Parliament dissolved for failing to implement gender balance rule.

Through its chair Lucy Ngugi who is also a Nominated MCA at Muranga County Assembly, the women lobby group says LSK is justified to lodge the petition to dissolve Parliament since legislators have failed to adhere to both the constitutional provisions and the court orders that has from time to time directed them to implement the two thirds gender rule.

LSK says in its petition that Chief Justice David Maraga should advise President Uhuru Kenyatta to dissolve parliament since no laws have been drafted to enable implementation of section 27 of the Constitution.

Ms Ngugi says Maendeleo ya Wanawake is supporting the petition since the legislature has failed to observe the rule of law and that the Parliament is improperly constituted.

“Constitution is very clear and all institutions including and not limited to Parliament must obey and strictly follow the law and there are consequences of failing to obey the law. Calls for to dissolve both houses are timely since they have violated the law,” Ms Ngugi said.

In the National Assembly only 59 out of 349 MPs are females while in Senate men are 47 accounting for 70 per cent of available seats.

This means that currently there are vacancies in both houses that should be filled by women but attempts to enact laws have been opposed by male legislators.

The enactment of the 2/3 gender rule does not necessarily mean that women will the biggest beneficiary since electorate have gradually started accepting women leadership and in future men could be needed to fill the positions to have a Parliament that is sensitive to gender balance.

In Muranga County Kandara, Kigumo and Maragua are led by women and adding the women representative the County gets 4 women MPs and four male leaders who include Kiharu’s Ndindi Nyoro, Gatanga’s Nduati Ngugi, Kangema’s Muturi Kigano and Mathioya’s Peter Kimari constituting to a complete gender balance County.

Recommended For You

About the Author: KK Online News

0 0 vote
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
%d bloggers like this: